Can Brussel Sprouts be tasty? I’m a convert!

 

image of brussel sprouts with bacon

Brussel Sprouts with Bacon

 

I have always had a hate-hate relationship with Brussel Sprouts.  I kept the opinion, that not only did they smell like smelly socks, but they tasted awful.

But something changed, this year, in my journey on LCHF food.

a.  I have a limited amount & type of vegetable/s, when eating =<20g of carbs per day

b. Experimentation is the spice of life.

c. Never believed I would not long for carbohydrates, especially the refined ones, so all my frames of reference & opinions on new or old foods, needed to be rechecked.

d.  My taste buds have changed and everything tastes just “more”, “more” intense, just “more”.

And lo’ and behold, I have developed a liking, not yet loving for brussel sprouts.

But key is the way they are prepared.

The two methods I use are as follows:-

1) Rubbing them in macadamia nut oil & herb salt, then roasting them in the oven at 180 degrees for approximately 30minutes until nicely brown & crisp. The nut oil gives them amazing flavour!

2) Frying bacon & cutting the bacon up.  And using the bacon oil to either fry the brussel sprouts in them OR rubbing them in the bacon fat, and roasting them in the oven (like above) and then mixing the bacon in with them.  Delicious.

Why don’t you give it a try!

 

Leave a Reply

