More-ishly Coconut Almond Fish

 

 

I absolutely love eating fish.
However, getting fresh fish, is an effort, since the really good fishmongers are quite a distance from my place.  So once every two months, I make the effort to go & stock up from my favourite fishmonger.

The best is, is that I never know what I am going to get.  It all depends on what has arrived in the store that week.  I always buy a whole fish, because
a) I want to know how fresh the fish actually is (check to see if the gills are still red, and the fish eyes, should not be sunken in)

b) There is nothing easier than making fresh fish stock, it takes less than 15minutes.  I will provide the recipe in a follow-up post!  And the staff at the shop always fillet the fish for me.

So a win-win situation!

I’ve been trying different ways to “batter” fish, since grain-flours are a no-no, and here’s one of my winners…

image of fish frying in coconut-almond batter

Ingredients (serves 2-4 people):

  •  Firm white fish (like hake, kingklip, yellowtail, silver etc)
  • 50g almond flour
  • 50g coconut flour (covers better than desiccated coconut)
  • 1 tsp favourite herbs, like mixed herbs or any other that goes well with fish
  • 1/2 tsp salt (I prefer to use herb salt, brand A.Vogel)
  • Coconut oil, for frying
  • 2 eggs

How to make?

  1. Mix the flours, herbs & salt together in a container, that you can use for dipping in the fish,
  2. Mix the eggs together in a separate bowl.
  3. Dip the fish in the eggs, and then into the flour mixture.  Make sure, the fish is covered well with the flour mixture.
  4. Place onto a plate, and let it rest in the fridge for 30 minutes.
  5. Heat the coconut oil in the frying pan (use enough to fry fish).
    Once ready, place the fish in for frying.  It should be a few minutes on each side to cook, depending on the thickness of the fish.
  6. Eat with a salad or cauli-mash, even better a yummy vegetable gratin/bake!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

