Ooh la la…Herb Salt Crumbed Calamari

image of crumbed calamari in herb coconut and almond

Herb Coconut-Almond Crumbed Calamari

My treat when eating, is making a dish, I wouldn’t normally make everyday!
An absolute spoil dish.
Last week, I decided my treat was going to be calamari heads & tubes, when I was in my local fishery, and happened to see it freshly available.  Yummy!

But being on LCHF, made me realized my typical flour-batter was not an option, so I needed to experiment.

And the above was the results!

Ingredients

  • 10ml herb salt (I use A.Vogels Herbamare, but you can improvise & use salt & a mix of dried herbs you enjoy)
  • 50g almond flour
  • 50g coconut flour
  • 2 eggs whisked
  • coconut oil, enough to fry (alternatively no oil, if you are baking)

How to make?

  1. Whisk the eggs in a bowl.
  2. In a separate bowl mix the herb salt and flours together.

    image of calamari being encrusted

    Calamari Prepping

  3. Dip the calamari in the eggs & then dip into the flour mixture.
  4. Rest in fridge for one hour.
  5. You can either then fry them for a few minutes, since it doesn’t take long too cook OR you can bake on an oven tray in a preheated oven of 190 degree celsius for approximately 15minutes or until crispy light brown.
Leave a Reply

