You are who you are, and that’s good enough!

You are who you are, and that’s good enough!

I can’t say this enough!  These profound words, resonated deeply today within me, whilst reading an article “Addicted to approval: Reclaim your self-esteem” by Katherine Reseburg

It rang deeply in me, due to the journey I am on in trying to shed my physical weight, which is more strongly aligned my sense of self and self-worth, than I ever realized.

It has been close to a month since I wrote the article “How to keep motivated, even though you might not be losing weight”.  I had the illusion that taking the various homeopathic medication that would assist in breaking down my barriers of insulin resistance, Vitamin D deficiency etc would miraculously fast activate my weight loss.  The reality has been different, I had what I initially thought a measly 2 kg loss during this period.

However, its about perspective.  And her article was a wake up call I needed.  The statement “you are who you are, and that’s good enough”, made me realize, that I should be proud that this is a step in the right direction.  I am better off, than what I was a month ago.  Yes, my distorted reality was a disappointment, but rather it was a false disappointment.

The reality is I should be celebrating!
So to those of you out there, who are as self-critical and judgmental as I am to myself, be kind to yourself.  Take each positive step as trophies to celebrate & be proud of!
A mountain is not conquered over night, each small step, leads me forward, to the peak I see in the far distance!

Leave a Reply

