Believe it or not, LCHF Bread

Low Carb High Fat can still mean bread!

LCHF with creative ingredients & experimentation, can still mean you fool your brain & stomach to eat “bread”.  It’s just not the bread we are used to in terms of highly refined carbs, and energy slumps, with the addiction of wanting more.  Instead, there are no energy slumps…..BONUS!  There are no addiction cravings…..FANTASTIC, and best of all it can still fit into a strict total carb input regime.

This was one of my first ventures into making LCHF “bread” alternatives, before also discovering the seed crisp crackers & the hamburger rolls.  Unlike the other two, this one, people either love or hate, and I suspect it’s got to do with the ‘linseed’ texture, flavor & being egg-whitey.  So try it yourself, and decide which camp you fall into!

For me personally, it’s great to know I have it in the freezer and can simply pop one slice into the toaster to have with chicken liver pate or with almond butter, if I have a snack craving during the day, since I usually now only eat breakfast and supper.

image of LCHF bread

LCHF can still mean bread!

This recipe comes from the Real Meal Revolution cook book (details for this book can be found on my page, called LCHF  books & links), however, I have adapted a few ingredients, since their recipe kept collapsing on me!

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 cups ground flax seed (also known as linseed), should be just over 210g.
  • 4 egg whites
  • 2 whole eggs
  • 5 TBSP coconut oil
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 3g stevia (optional)

How to make?

  1. In terms of flaxseeds/linseeds, most people advise that you buy the seeds and ground them yourself, since the ground version tends to go rancid, and this is what I do.  I actually use my coffee grinder to do this. However, if you do buy the ground ones, make sure it’s ‘fresh’ in terms of use-by date & store potentially in fridge for shelf-life – that’s what my sister does!
  2. Preheat oven to 180 degrees.
  3. In a food processor mix all the dry ingredient together.
  4. Now add all the wet ingredients to the food processor.  And ensure it gets well mixed.  It might mean you have to put your spatula into the crevices to ensure the batter is well mixed – you will find the batter gets stiffer & fuller, due to the aeration of the egg whites.  I could also use a hand-mixer, the duration of mixing would simply take longer than the food processor!  I do not recommend doing this by hand!
  5. Put into a bread tin, which has been either sprayed with non-stick spray or lightly smeared with butter.
  6. And bake in the oven for around 30 minutes, or until your ‘cake skewer’ comes out clean.
  7. Remove gently from pan and leave it to cool down.
  8. The bread does not keep fresh very long, so I cut it into slices once it’s cooled, and I store initially in the fridge for 3 days and then put the remainder in the freezer.It’s a great way to have open or closed sandwiches and still be LCHF!
    Happy eating!!!
3 thoughts on “Believe it or not, LCHF Bread

  1. Hi, I love your blog, and find it most interesting. I found the bread to be very salty, can I just leave the salt out? Would that be okay?
    You mentioned in one blog that you would be putting up a list of carb foods. Will you be doing this, or did i misread this part?
    It is also heartening to see that you say your cholesterol figures are good, I am battling with high cholesterol and so am interested in also continuing on this path. I think it may be an idea to go for a test now and then monitor it next month to see the difference.

    Like

    • Good Day Alison. Thank you so much, for such positive feedback! It’s always great to hear what my followers are thinking and feeling, since it helps me evolve my blog even further, since my journey started.
      In terms of the bread, salt is a personal preference, so you can absolutely leave it out, or try half the quantity or even a herb salt. Salt is usually used to enhance taste/other ingredients, so use to your discretion.
      Thank you also for calling me out on the list of carb foods….it had completely skipped my mind. I’ve just done it for you, and can be found on the page called “food traffic light” – it will evolve over time & more items that I use weekly will be added to it.
      I really recommend you go for the tests, and understand if it’s not only cholesterol that is a factor for you! It was an interesting journey for me, realizing my body was fighting me. I truly believe that LCHF is my lifestyle, its now just a question of understanding the nuances of what ingredients do/do not work for me, to assist my bodies insulin resistance. Best of luck, and keep me updated on your cholesterol! (If interested, read Jimmy Moore’s latest article, where his wife’s cholesterol figures dropped by being on LCHF…his blog is http://www.livinlavidalowcarb.com)

      Like

  2. Pingback: Better and better, LCHF bread, the experiment take II | livingbodaciously

Leave a Reply

