LCHF Hamburger Rolls

Pure Ambrosia….Hamburger Heaven

There is nothing better, than opening your mouth wide like a hippo, and taking that first yummy bite into hamburger heaven.  Pure ambrosia.  Nothing better, to satisfy a craving.

We recently had our first Burger King’s open up in our province.  And yes, I know it’s fast-food and junk-food, but you know what, it’s still yummy poison!  So being surrounded by everyone eating these burgers, I thought, this sucks, I need to have a hamburger, and that’s when I discovered the low-carb burger rolls.

There are a few recipes floating around, various websites, but the one below, I used with great success.

And my burger was pure paradise, smothered in homemade tzatziki, grilled haloumi, rosa tomato’s & my yummy lamb koftes!  Yep, I went full-out!

image of LCHF Hamburger

LCHF Hamburger

 Ingredients (makes 6):

  • 3 eggs (separate yolks to whites)
  • 7,5ml psyllium husks
  • 5ml baking powder
  • 1ml cream of tartar
  • 100g cream cheese (like Philadelphia cream cheese)

How to make?

  • Beat the egg whites with a hand mixer, in a separate bowl until stiff.
  • Mix the cream cheese, egg yolks, cream of tartar, baking powder & psyllium husks together, until they are well mixed.  My secret, is that I microwave my cream cheese for 10-20 seconds, to soften it up and then mix all the other ingredients together.  It makes a nice smooth paste.
  • Then fold this into the egg whites i.e. mix with a spatula or spoon (do not use hand mixer).
  • Pre-heat oven to 150 degrees celsius.  Take two oven trays, I use baking paper on them & spray them with a non-stick spray, since  first time I made these, I simply non-stick sprayed my oven tray & it was a mission to clean.  I prefer having to throw the non-stick paper away, with minimal fuss in washing.
  • Spoon the mixture onto the trays – each roll is approximately 2 heaped tablespoons, give or take.  Don’t worry that the mixture might be a bit runny, just make sure it has space, I find you can do about 3 to 4 of these on a  normal size baking tray, thus the need for 2 trays.
  • Bake for 25 minutes.
  • And voila, you have your burger rolls.
  • Once cooled I wrapped them individually in plastic-wrap & found them to last for a few days.  You can even toast them!

Ideas: And if you want to be fancy, before baking them, scatter some sesame seeds, poppy seeds etc on top of them!  These ‘rolls’ are also great for making sandwiches or making yourself a breakfast roll of bacon & egg!

5 thoughts on “LCHF Hamburger Rolls

  1. Pingback: Believe it or not, LCHF Bread | livingbodaciously

  2. Pingback: Better and better, LCHF bread, the experiment take II | livingbodaciously

  3. Pingback: Tangy Indian Curry Chicken Pie | livingbodaciously

Leave a Reply

